Kindle Fire Tips & Tricks

Some tips and tricks I have collected about the Kindle Fire. Most of information listed here I have found on the internet and have tried to give back links to the original posts.

Can Not Connect to 5 GHz Wireless

After receiving the Kindle Fire I first tried to connect the device to my home wireless network. The Kindle Fire would not find my 5 GHz network, so I tried adding it manually, and again no luck. I found the following article that explains the chipset in the Kindle Fire does not support 802.11a / 5 GHz, bummer!

http://wlanbook.com/amazon-kindle-fire-only-supports-2.4-ghz-wifi/

Copy and Paste Text

Evernote is an application I like to use on my Win 7 laptop and I was very excited to see this app available for the Kindle Fire. After installing the app on my Kindle Fire I went to the browser to test how to copy text into a note and found this on a Kindle Fire help forum.
-long press on the text you want to copy (I tested in the browser)
-it will bring up the two sliders and highlight the word you held on
-move the sliders to expand the selection you want to copy
-click once on the selected text
-a message will popup saying text copied
-go to where you want to paste the text (I tested using Evernote)
-long press on the spot you want to paste (make sure you’re in typing/edit mode, if you can’t type text you wont be able to paste either)
-a popup will ask if you want to paste, click paste

Hard Reset

Not a good feeling when your device freezes up and you’re not sure what to do. The only button on the device is the power button and hitting that does nothing, now what!

Step 1: Hard Reset: Press and hold the power button for 20 seconds and then release.

Step 2: Tap the Power Button: After the first 20 second hold of the power button wait about 1 second and hit the power button again. I received the Kindle Fire screen for about 20 seconds and then my regular login screen showed up.

https://www.zdnet.com/blog/mobile-gadgeteer/if-your-kindle-fire-is-having-issues-follow-these-instructions/5372

ES File Explorer

Nice app to browse and manage the folders and files on the device, and ES File Explorer is a free app available in the Amazon app store.

ES File Explorer details page

Transfer and Read PDF Files

Awesome instructions with screen shots that explain the two ways to transfer and read PDF files on the Kindle Fire.

Kindle Fire: How to Transfer and Read PDF Files

Too Many Tabs in the Amazon Silk Browser

To clear out all the tabs at once, you can touch one tab, hold down on it and then select the option to close all tabs from the pop up. You will then have a fresh browser with no open tabs. Sorry, no link on this tip and not sure where I found it.

Calibre

Some great instructions to convert ebooks or PDF files to mobi format and transfer those files to the Kindle Fire for reading. Need the data transfer cable to transfer files from the Calibre program on your laptop to the Kindle Fire device. Cable is not included, but it is under ten dollars online from the Amazon Kindle accessories.

How to make e-books show up under “Books” on the Kindle Fire

Data Transfer Cable

This is just a handful of tips I found useful, and there is plenty of other tips for the Kindle Fire beside the ones I listed here. Drop me a comment on you favorite tip as I’m always looking to learn new ways to use the Kindle Fire device, and come back next week as I will post some security settings for the Kindle Fire to help protect the device.

One thought on “Kindle Fire Tips & Tricks

  1. Pingback: Kindle Fire Tips & Tricks Part 2 « daleswifisec

Leave a Reply

