How to Fix the SIOCSIFFLAGS Error in Kali Linux

I recently rebuilt my laptop and reloaded the applications I use for pentesting including Virtualbox and Kali Linux. If you need help setting up Kali Linux in Virtualbox here is a great link that walks through the setup process.

Once I had Kali up and running in my virtual environment I plugged in my ALFA wireless adapter and made sure the USB device was running in the virtual environment.

I ran iwconfig to verify the wireless interface.

iwconfig

So far so good and I ran ifconfig to verify the interface was up, but the only interface returned was the loopback.

loopback

After discovering the wireless interface was not up and I ran ifconfig wlan0 up to bring it up and got the SIOCSIFFLAGS error.

siocsifflags

I wrote about this error a while back when I was running Backtrack 5 and I first started using the Fern WiFi Cracker. I decided to expand on that post plus I was asked about creating a script to run all the commands at one time instead of typing them individually. The script should be run every time Kali is booted, but after your adapter is plugged in and recognized.

First open a text editor and type in the script shown in the screen shot below. I prefer the gedit text editor and since that is not loaded in Kali I used Leafpad and coming from the Windows world it reminds me of Notepad.

script

Name the file and save it to the Root directory.

saveas2

Open the Terminal window and do a quick ls command to verify the file is present.

lscommand

To run the script type ./<file name>

filepremissions

You’ll probably get an error message about permissions denied and running the chmod 755 <file name> command will adjust the permissions on the file as needed.

chmodalfa

Rerun the script ./<file name>

runscript

If there are no errors you are good to go and can run ifconfig to verify the wireless interface is up.

ifconfig

I will run the script every time I boot Kali whether or not the interface shows as being up in the ifconfig results.

Trouble shooting wireless issues in Kali Linux can be a frustrating process, but use your Google Fu skills and you’ll find a lot of good links and people offering up advice. Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

